Tags

, , , ,

I love eating fish.  It’s tender and juicy so that I never need a knife and it can be cooked up fairly quickly.  Fish can be used as a backdrop for so many flavor combinations, from simple to complex.  It’s also very healthful.  I found this delicious  recipe from the Copper River Salmon website.  The combination of smoky paprika, spicy cumin and cocoa is wonderful.  I chose to panfry the salmon completely; the original recipe recommends finishing the cooking in the oven.  Either way is great.

Smoky & Sweet Salmon:

  • 2 tsp smoked paprika*
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 4 6-8 ounce salmon fillets
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

Mix the first 6 ingredients together.  Then rub the spices into the top of salmon fillets.

Heat oil in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat.  Place fillets in the hot pan, skin side up.

Fry for about 3 or 4 minutes.  Turn fillets over and cook for 3-4 minutes or more until the fillets are cooked through.

I served my fish with green beans, brussel sprouts and roasted potatoes.  I am a stickler about eating lots of veggies, so that’s why my plate looks like the veggies are taking over!

*Note: Smoked paprika has a smoky flavor compared to sweet paprika.  You can find smoked paprika at Penzey’s Spices. I buy almost all of my spices from Penzey’s. They have so much more flavor that most of the ones I get in the grocery store and are sometimes less expensive, too.

